Trump Unveils Muslim Ban and Suspension of Refugee Program

Trump is expected to sign an Executive Order on Friday, January 26, that will do two things:

1. Halt all immigration (refugee, non-immigrant and immigrant) from at least seven Muslim-majority countries for at least 30 days. (These are Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.) 

2. Suspend the United States Refugee Program for at least six months while significant changes are made to the program.

Here are the relevant sections of the Executive Order that was leaked (this is not official until the President signs off):

Sec. 3. Suspension of Issuance of Visas and Other Immigration Benefits to National of Countries of Particular Concern.
(c)...I hereby find that the immigrant and non-immigrant entry into the United States of aliens from countries designated pursuant to [a particular Division of an appropriations act outlining the seven Muslim-majority countries listed above], would be detrimental to the interests of the United States, and I hereby suspend entry into the United States, as immigrant and non-immigrants of such persons for 30 days from the date of this order.

Sec. 5. Realignment of the U.S. Refugee Admissions Program for Fiscal Year 2017

(a) The Secretary of State shall suspend the U.s. Refugee Admissions Program (USRAP) for 120 days...Refugee applicants who are already in the USRAP process may be admitted upon the initiation and completion of these revised procedures.

(c) The Secretaries of State and Homeland Security, as appropriate, shall cease refugee processing of and the admittance of nationals of Syria as refugees until such time as I have determined that sufficient changes have been made to the USRAP to ensure its alignment with the national interest.